Home > Accounting, Education, Finance, International Business, professional Development, Uncategorized > Establishing a New “Doctrine” — Our platform to share learnings

Establishing a New “Doctrine” — Our platform to share learnings

One of my favorite quotes is “To teach is to learn twice” by Joseph Joubert (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joseph_Joubert).    As of recent, I have been teaching myself a new set of professional skills and discovering that my friends and colleagues have a lot of teachings to share with me.   In our busy lives, we often have little time to keep up with our professional and personal development ambitions.  It has always been my intent and goal to share information with those that could benefit from the knowledge.   So as I “learn twice”, I plan to deposit these learnings in this blog for those interested in reading, commenting, debating, or expanding upon the topics.

The blog postings are not intended to be authoritative, but more preferably informative.   As I seek and stumble upon ideas on how to develop new professional skills, tap into career resources, current topics of interest, and ideas for improvement, I will share them in this blog.  The subjects will gravitate towards subjects that I feel most comfortable, such as:

  • the accounting profession (on-going education, professional designation, and current topics)
  • international business (ANYTHING that shows how the world is connected through commerce)
  • professional development tools, tricks, and recommendations for any profession

If you have something to add, PLEASE do share via the comments or a blog entry.

I found the first challenge in setting up a blog was choosing a name for it.   I was about to choose one of my cheesy names that I had thought up, when it occurred to me to ask others on Facebook.   From the least likely source, a sister of a good friend recommended, The “Moreau” Doctrine.  It was the first and one of the best names to be posted.   Thank you Morelia!  Of course, I needed to research what the doctrine was about in the event that it was not something that is suitable for a blog name.  Funny enough, the key objective of the Monroe doctrine was to stop the colonization of the  “Americas” (North and South America) by European countries, and the promise of the USA to not interfere with other European colonies. ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monroe_Doctrine).   Aside form the phonetic play on my last name is was fitting that the doctrine was focused on Latin America, a place that is key to my professional and personal being.   More on this in future blogs.

I’ll close with one of the many definitions of the word doctrine.

Doctrine (Latin: doctrina) is a codification of beliefs or “a body of teachings” or “instructions”, taught principles or positions, as the body of teachings in a branch of knowledge or belief system. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doctrine

The Moreau Doctrine is our platform to share learnings and instructions in support of a belief that one must continuously expand his or her professional and personal learnings.

Randy Moreau

Randy Moreau of The "Moreau" Doctrine

  1. Alex
    December 6, 2010 at 18:43

    Good iniciative! Good doctrine! Good text! congratulations! I’ll following to you. Would you shared the next title post early? Hugs!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment